Patrol Division

The Patrol Division is the largest division within the department and includes the:

  • Foot Patrol Units
  • Patrol Bureau
  • Traffic Safety Unit

It is staffed by a Captain as Division Commander. Within these bureaus, there are three Lieutenants, nine Sergeants and between thirty and forty Police Officers.


The primary mission of the Patrol Division is to provide all necessary police and public safety services to the City of Asbury Park, twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. To meet this need, the prudent and efficient utilization of available manpower resources is essential. Accordingly, ways are continually sought to maximize available resources to provide optimum protection and services.

The Patrol Bureau is the core division within the department from which all other bureaus, sections and units operate. Patrol Officers account for the vast majority of all personnel and are responsible for the day to day operations of the police department.

Officer Duties

Officers assigned to the Patrol Bureau work 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. The officers wear full uniforms and patrol the confines of the City in marked police cruisers. Patrol Officers respond to all calls for police service and generate most of the initial investigations that are later followed up by detectives.

Patrol Officers are also responsible for motor vehicle enforcement throughout the City. There are between thirty and forty officers assigned to the Patrol Bureau, which are separated into three patrol squads.

Each squad is supervised by a Lieutenant and three Sergeants. The Patrol Bureau falls under the command of the Patrol Division commander.