News Flash

News (Highlights)

Posted on: September 14, 2021

NJ Safe Passing Law

Safe-Passing-Law-Graphic_Large-1024x346

NJ Safe Passing Law: Drivers must now move over when passing people walking and on bikes

Under the New Jersey Safe Passing Law, drivers who are passing cyclists or pedestrians must move over one lane if it’s safe to do so. If moving over one lane isn’t possible or safe, drivers must allow four feet of space between their vehicle and the pedestrian or cyclist until they’ve safely passed them. In the event that it isn’t possible to safely allow four feet of space, the driver is required to slow their vehicle to 25 miles per hour.

In addition to cyclists and pedestrians, the bill also covers New Jersey residents with mobility issues who are riding electric scooters or in wheelchairs. Drivers who fail to follow the new law may face fines of $100, while drivers who cause bodily injury by failing to comply may face a fine of up to $500 and have two motor vehicle points added to their driving record.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News (Highlights)

2021_Fall-StoryandCrafts

AP Library Story and Craft Schedule

Posted on: September 17, 2021
Green Fest Flyer 2021

Asbury Park Community & Green Fest

Posted on: September 14, 2021
ESTC Screenshot of Volunteer Opportunities Video

Get Involved with Your Community!

Posted on: September 14, 2021
Fall 2021 Newsletter Photo for Social

City of Asbury Park Fall 2021 Newsletter

Posted on: September 9, 2021
APFD Safety Tips

Hurricane Preparedness

Posted on: August 20, 2021
Work Dev Looking for Job Looking to Hire

Looking for a Job? Looking to Hire?

Posted on: August 20, 2021
Utility Assistance

Need Help Paying Your Utilities?

Posted on: February 11, 2021
Corona Virus

COVID-19 Resources

Posted on: March 15, 2020